Graded Readers for Chinese Language Learners (Level 3) 16: The Story of Lü Buwei


The series Graded Readers for Chinese Language Learners is composed of 50 books, divided into three subseries, namely folktales, literary stories and historical stories, corresponding to Levels 1-3 respectively. The rich and fun content and easy-to-understand language makes it easy for everyone, whether they are foreigners learning Chinese, children with parents of Chinese origin, ethnic minority students of the Chinese language, or even primary school students in China, to read this series. It enables the readers to gradually improve their Chinese reading skills and enhance their understanding of Chinese culture by reading and enjoying stories.

The subseries “Historical Stories” is composed of 20 books based on the history of the Spring and Autumn period and the Warring States period between 770 BC and 202 BC. On the basis of the historical records in Commentary of Zuo, Records of the Grand Historian, Discourses of the States, and Strategies of the Warring States, each book is given a number according to the chronological order, and readers can read the books in order.

The businessman Lü Buwei met a man called Yiren in Handan, capital of Zhao. Yiren was a prince of Qin, who was held hostage in Handan and lived a poor life there. Lü Buwei saw an opportunity to make a deal with Yiren. He decided to invest all his money on Yiren to help him become the king of Qin.

Yiren’s grandfather, King Zhaoxiang of Qin, had more than 20 sons. Yiren’s father also had over 20 sons, and Yiren was the second. The chances seemed very slim for Yiren, who didn’t matter at all among all these sons and grandsons, to become the king of Qin. However, Lü Buwei succeeded in making Yiren the king and he himself the prime minister. 

Graded Readers for Chinese Language Learners (Level 3) 16: Lü Buwei

SKU: 9787561954034

RECOURSE | United States | Phoenixtreestore

  • Facebook
  • WeChat
  • YouTube
  • Email
  • qq
  • Cell